Back to all posts

    Congratulations to Winter 2014 Critical Fierceness Grantees NIC KAY, MARGARET BOBO-DANCY, and WITCH HAZEL! 

    Nic Kay is the recipient of the $1000 Mark Aguhar Memorial Grant. Nic will use the funds in the creation of a long-form performance entitled Lil Black _____ Gone Wild. According to Nic, LB_GW is "heavily influenced by ballroom culture, live punk performance, butoh and praise dance. The show begins with the commentators failed attempt to organize an open to all Vogue ball with no judges and trophies." Nic Kay's proposal stood out for its critical exploration of the tensions between belonging and difference, competition and collectivity, and tradition and innovation within queer, POC and activist communities. Congratulations Nic!

    Margaret Bobo-Dancy and WITCH HAZEL both received $500 Critical Fierceness Grants.

    Margaret will be creating sculptural works inspired by St. Theresa's so-called "transverberation." Margaret's practice explores the liminal space between the sensual and the spiritual and engages in erotic material explorations. Margaret's seductive work speaks to the public and private nature of feminine sexuality and the potential to queer the borders between mind/body/soul. Congratulations Margaret!

    WITCH HAZEL is a performance group that consists of Ariel Young, Darren Barrere & Casey Hartley. They are currently working on an evening-length, performative triptych called Love Drug. The varied segments will oscillate between a conventional exploration "of queer family, drug abuse, and cissexism" and "an abstract spectacle on the young queer experience" that "seeks to blur the distinction between theatrical performance and reality." WITCH HAZEL's fun and challenging proposal recasts children's play and pop iconography as contemporary myth. Congratulations WITCH HAZEL!

    Chances Dances and the Winter 2014 Critical Fierceness Board

    Rita Bacon, Davey Ball, Allison Burque, Bryce Dwyer, Jacquelyn Carmen Guerrero, Kiam Marcelo Junio, Justin Mitchell, Jeanine O'Toole, Aay Preston-Myint, Oli Rodriguez, Erik Roldan, Amina Ross, Latham Zearfoss